Alright Old Man…

Perhaps a wee bit of clarification is in order here: Yes, mate (you know who you are), I am a narky fucker. Yes, I am quick to point out all the aggravating, narrow minded, inhibitive, aggravating, silly, intrusive, aggravating bits about living on an intentional community (no, as much as I like the lable, it ain’t a hippie commune… really… maybe… well actually), because really I am a narky little fucker.

In my own defense, I feel compelled to say that, I don’t want to go putting people off by becoming some accepting, peaceable, calm, zen motherfucker that nobody knows, expects or wants. Really, don’t I provide a great deal of amusement? Not only with my ranting witticisms (hmm?), but in the examples of how to work yourself toward an early death of heart failure and scorn. Not to mention the lathers of intolerance and irritation I work myself into? ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?

Anyhoo, back to the point in hand. On the flip side of being a narky cunt, I could only really categorise my experience here (on the hippie commune), as positive. How often do you get yourself into a situation that teaches you how intolerant you can be, how prone to judgementality, how to go about finding the positive sides of life, of where you are, of who you’re with and why you get out of bed in the morning. Talk about a habitation of self-reflection. And all these grand insights on how to better myself, at the same time as getting some very poignant clarification on where I don’t want to live, who I don’t like, what I don’t want to eat on a regular basis, and how much I cannot tolerate foolishness, political correctness or diversity.

~ by Gethin A. Lynes on September 7th, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
