No Gag Relfex.

You ever wake up with bitter taste in your mouth? That’s still there after cleaning your teeth? That’ll be there at the end of next week? It keeps you thinking too much, shying away from a touch, a look, an attempt to breach the wall, of self-recrimination, reflection, the one that sections off your enjoyment of life, from the moment the strife all started, when the fiery hearted drunken fool, that you see in the mirror, the one that you swore would never, be allowed to climb up your throat again, and leave that acrid flavour on your tongue, and now no amount of gargling is going to help, and all the words that come spilling out won’t stop you wallowing in your little private hell, well…

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, my paths of enjoyment, the ways I spend, my social hours, lost in a pint glass, the way life sours, I know as well as the next guy, that it’s just a way to get by, to avoid doing the things that really make the days worthwhile.

But on the other hand, despite being pissed off at my own anger, despite feeling down on myself, on almost everything else, in life this morning, I can’t help but wonder if I shouldn’t just be more selective in how I spend my time with who I spend my time with.

~ by Gethin A. Lynes on September 20th, 2008.

One Response to “No Gag Relfex.”

  1. Mate, you’re seeming kind of maudlin of late. You all good?

Leave a Reply

 
