Inner Brat

So here I am once more, in the depths of my selfishness (apparently), and being childish. Now, certainly I have a tendency towards both, I will be the first to admit (privately, to myself, and never when being accused of such), but what actually pisses me off more than anything, is the fact that in situations such as this I get lumped with the entirety of the blame.

Not that I want to have a little online bitching session about marital bliss, but surely the reasoning that if I didn’t react by getting the shits, then she’d admit she shouldn’t have ralphed at me, is just a little off kilter? Or am I just being a brat? I any case, seemingly I should stop wearing any of my t-shirts that have any holes in the front, as a certain someone is sick of looking at me in them. Add it to the fucking list…

Anyway, while I am on the topic of children, I have been thinking more and more of late of the realities of having them. I have been spending a great deal of time hanging out with my niece (18 months old) and getting such a kick out of it. As beautiful as the little creatures are, and as much joy as I get from partaking in that lovely view and experience of the world, am I fooling myself into thinking that I am ready to take up that dread responsibility? Sure, I can have a little army of beings to shape in my own image, but is perpetuating my horrendous nature in a younger generation merely inflicting a cruel and irresponsible punishment upon the world? And do they even let children raise children?

They shouldn’t. The world would be a better place if we’d put a stop to that centuries ago… but that smacks a bit of degenerating into some form of cleansing (just replace ethnic with IQ or some such).

Mind you, somewhere I still have my ” ‘Thank You for Not Breeding’ – The Society For Voluntary Human Sterilisation ” bumper sticker. Maybe Semaj and I ought to set up InvoluntarySterilisation.org/redneck/

I know I’d have a partner in harsh judgement there. And, let’s face it, as much as it does speak of tyranny, the world would be a better place for it.

~ by Gethin A. Lynes on June 7th, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
