Maugham.

I love the little, occasionally useful or amusing, but generally banal, application available for the Google homepage… they’re probably all available in much brighter colours, with much more “intuitive” interactive capabilities on an iphone, but I am neither that rich, nor that trendy… yet.

Anyway, I have a little box that presents me with quotes of the day. Brilliant. Puts me in mind of the old staff room at Real Foods, and the instigation of a quote of the week segment upon the cork board… David (Daveed, the crazy, stoned spaniard) started it… or rather I started it, being so amused by one of his linguistic fuck ups. “No, just because I have a large head, does not mean I have a big brain.” Genius. Encapsulated humanity right there.

Anyway, one of today’s little offerings is from W. Somerset Maugham.

“Sometimes people carry to such perfection the mask they have assumed that in due course they actually become the person they seem.”

I mention it only because I have perfected so many of my own, that I really have no fucking idea who I am anymore…

This is somewhat disturbing.

~ by Gethin A. Lynes on August 20th, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
