A twinge of guilt: Cock Sucking Corporate Whore.

I love a good adage. Don’t you? How can you not, they’re like a good cliché, or an episode of The Simpsons: there’s an appropriate one for every occasion. Take this for example:

The more things change…

I don’t even really need to finish it, do I? Again, the wonder of adages. Cut them in half, and lose none of the meaning. It’s an adage after all, every one bloody well knows how it ends.

So, things change: I am back to work. Things stay the same: It’s not exactly a job I’m excited about. Change: now I wear a collared shirt to work, and it’s tucked in. Same: It’s a means to an end, and I am at peace with that. Change: I’m now a corporate whore, a sucker of Satan’s cock. I “live the brand” – whatever the fuck that means. Same: Having a regular, half-decent (and I mean half) paycheque makes me feel like a worthwhile human being:

You don’t have to be living the dream, you don’t have to be creatively fulfilled or whatever it is that floats your utopian boat; we all understand that these things take time, that we’re all overgrown children, and we need to sort our shit out, but for fuck’s sake, if you’re not, at least pull your fucking weight while you’re getting around to it…

Hmmm… don’t quite know who that was directed at… myself obviously, but quite possibly one of at least half a dozen other fuckers I know… if reading it makes you feel even that faintest twinge of guilt (or even some strange emotion you refuse to recognise as guilt), then it was no doubt aimed at you as well…

Anyhoo…

Change: I am doing loads of writing. Same: It’s writing for something other than own creative fulfilment. Change: Unless something goes wrong and the world ends between now and approximately the first of July, I will soon be published – and five articles now instead of four… Same: The word count of my whatever-it-is is:

Change: The weather, at last, begins to resemble Scotland’s. Though, in true Scottish fashion, Perth impending winter resembles most closely, the Scottish Summer.

Same: My three weeks with no booze lasted just shy of two weeks… and the caffeine reduction wasn’t.

~ by Gethin A. Lynes on May 15th, 2011.

One Response to “A twinge of guilt: Cock Sucking Corporate Whore.”

  1. just luv the ‘cok sukin corporate whore’ sayin.reminds me of music biz+the shit they unload upon the sheople.i write…

Leave a Reply

 
