William Gibson, Donkeys, and Franz-fucking-Kafka.

Right, well, last time I was trying to say something profound, or at least mildly interesting, about intolerance – specifically my own. I got distracted by fucking sharks. Hey, they’re bloody white-pointers out here, they’re huge, and aggressive, and fucking terrifying… you’d get distracted by them too…

Anyway, I have realised that intolerance is like the tide, it ebbs and flows, generally in direct proportion to the people one is surrounded with. Speaking of which, I came across this fabulous quote today (which no doubt you have all seen on Farcebook already):

“Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self-esteem, first make sure you are not, in fact, just surrounded by assholes.” – William Gibson.

By Gibson no less, a writer, one of those creatures so often known for our depression and low-self esteem… well, at least self-loathing, which is not necessarily any better, but is a lot more fun – based on the amount of intoxication it generally involves.

I’ve done my depression stint, however. I may have even done several of them, I couldn’t really say, they pretty much melded into one big The World Fucking Sucks, Therefore I Am Going To Get Wasted… And Angry…

I have also done the low-self esteem bit, and lots of the self-loathing thang. Mind you, I had very good reason for the self-loathing, you usually do, when you finally come to realise what an ARSEHOLE you have been. But more on that some other time.

So, I am past diagnosing myself with any of said conditions… I think – hope – that I am also past anyone else diagnosing me with them as well. I am, however, and rather unfortunately, still surrounded by arseholes… or as Mr Gibson put it, assholes. I can never really decide why Americans (ok, ok, United Statesians) are so concerned with donkeys, but anyway…

Now, I am pleased to say, that generally, the sort of people I tend to be intolerant of… FUCKING WELL DESERVE IT.

No, no trend setters, don’t worry, I am not going off on another of my Fuck Westralia rants – I really don’t dislike the place as much as might seem to. However, I do have a few words to say about Arsetralia as a whole, specifically about the sort of rabid, reactionary fear-mongering that goes on in our political circles (yes I know, it’s a global problem), and how fucking prone to lapping it up our bloody citizenry is.

Someone at work, who shall remain nameless – not because they might read this (they won’t), but because one day, when I attain my mediocre celebrity status, I really don’t need a fucking libel suit – said yesterday “Bloody Carbon Tax, we’re not going to be able to afford to eat soon.”

Now, I’d like to say the fella ain’t a stupid guy, and in some ways, he’s really not, but he’s clearly succumbed to the media antics of the likes of Tony Abbott and Barnaby Joyce. I don’t really blame him for doing so, he is after all part of the general public, and the general public are fucking morons. Hey, they call it the lowest COMMON denominator for a reason people. But no, it’s no more his fault, than the it’s the fault of the person sitting in the cinema watching a horror movie, who thinks they’re fucking cleverer than they are. Hate to break it to you mate, but they play the scary fucking music just before someone cops a ball-peen hammer between the eyes, so you can then turn to the fucker next to you and say “see I knew that was going to happen.” Of course you did, cock knot, they fucking told you it was going to happen, you’re just too stupid to realise they were telling you.

Anyway, digressions and all that. The blame for the whole Carbon Tax outcry lies squarely on the shoulders of the reprehensible, craven mob that take up most of the room in Parliament House. If these people had a shred of integrity, of fucking self-respect, they’d cease stirring up the populace with their incitant, ignorant fucking commentary. They’re as bad as Alan Jones, just not quite as openly bigoted. Maybe I shouldn’t be so surprised. I expect such things from Jonesy, the guy’s a first rate arsehole – and an asshole – but these are the potential future leaders of this country. And the’yre trying to win the next election, not by having anything worth saying, but by bashing the opposition.

The Carbon Tax, according to Joyce “will destroy our nation… It is just an absurd, Kafkaesque policy.” What? Kafka, absurd, what? I know Tony Abbott is a poor specimen of a Rhodes Scholar, but surely he can work out the people under his leadership that need a bloody sock shoved down their gullet. Do you have any idea, Joyce, what either the term absurd, or Kafkaesque actually mean? Fucking retard.

I shouldn’t single poor Joyce out, maybe he’s a black sheep, a dickhead amongst the respectable. Wait, no…

“When you think about this, you would have to think this is the greatest sell-out since Judas Iscariot took 30 pieces of silver.” – Senator Ron Boswell. Selling out who? Not implementing a Carbon Price, continuing to work towards leaving our children a smouldering, pock-marked pit of a country, that’s the bloody sell-out Boswell. You Fucking Cunt.

“GetUp! is the Hitler Youth wing of the Greens political movement, and I stand by that.” – Senator Ian McDonald. I have nothing to say to that other than… no… I have nothing to say to that… it beggars belief that that came out of the mouth of an Australian Senator. A Senator!

They’re clearly all as bad as each other. And it would be so bloody easy to just laugh at them, if it wasn’t for the fact that the populace they influence are stupid enough to buy into it. Alan Jones has some of the highest radio ratings in the cuntry… country?… no cuntry will do fine. What. The. Fuck. Is. Going. On. Here? I honestly (an clearly very naively) always thought that as a species, as we went on, we would continue to evolve… the rate we’re going, we’ll be dragging ourselves back into the oceans by the end of the century.

So… we won’t be able to afford to eat soon… because of the Carbon Tax… That’s as ridiculous as claiming that you’d have no way of getting your groceries home if they legislatively banned plastic bags. If the bags got taken away, Captain Apathy, you might have to use your fucking brain… just enough to remember the cloth bags… and there in lies the problem… the use of brain. It’s such a fucking effort isn’t it.

What makes the whole debacle worse, is the fact that Rabid Abbott and his snarling pack of dogs – and they are dogs – will use all the uproar – as long as they can keep it going long enough – to debase the current government enough that they lose the next election. And once they’re in office, they’ll have you believe, they’ll repeal the Carbon Tax. Will they fuck? They’ll suck all the extra dollars it brings in, and turn around and stick their foot in all your arses a little bit deeper. Because the most of the people jumping on their band-wagon and frothing at the mouth along with them are about as high income as I am, and as far outside the circle of benefits that get handed out by the Coalition.

Ok… I still didn’t really address my whole intolerance thing. I guess I will just leave it with this: I made comment yesterday that the senate debate, rather than allowing for coalition spouted premonitions of a Carbon Apolocypse, should have been a discussion of whether Tony Abbott or Barnaby Joyce should be the first to get a bullet in the head.

I’m usually a great proponent of people being entitled to their opinions, but a bullet in the head, that’s pretty harsh. But as I am wont to say:

Harsh but fair.

~ by Gethin A. Lynes on November 9th, 2011.

One Response to “William Gibson, Donkeys, and Franz-fucking-Kafka.”

  1. I cansafely say there wasn’t a single comment that My little head did not agree with. Abbot is such sneaky little reptitlean. He even has the mannarisms of one. Went to a talk by Ian R Crane last weekend. Bit Of a conspiracy theory guy but poses alot of questions about the world around us that most people would never question. You would like him in parts. Nice writing by the way.

Leave a Reply

 
